Crisis Intervention and Safety

Crisis Intervention and Safety Welcome

Dr. Robert Lopez: Hello, I'm Dr. Robert Lopez. I'm the Executive Director of Crisis and Safety for Waukegan schools. Our purpose is to provide leadership support and resources to aid in keeping our students, staff, and visitors of our district safe. Our focus is the implementation of best school safety practices, tools, programs, training, and other measures that will enhance to support our school district’s safety program. The offices of Crisis and Safety exists to provide support to our students, staff, and visitors related to these current safety programs: school safety emergency management, ALiCE, Crisis Go, anonymous tip line, and crisis response. Please feel free to contact our office for guidance and support. We are located at the Lincoln Center For Educational Services in room 219B.


The mission statement for the Department of Crisis and Safety is to assist the school community to provide a safe learning environment where teachers can teach and students can learn free from disruptive behavior.

Crisis and Safety
Waukegan Community Unit School District #60
1201 North Sheridan Road
Waukegan, IL 60085
Phone: (224) 303-1084
Fax: (224) 399-8568

Robert Lopez, Ed.D
Executive Director of Crisis Intervention and Safety

(224) 303-1084
rlopez@wps60.org

Charmaine Hillary, Ph.D
Director of Safety and Student Outreach 

224-303-1145
charris@wps60.org

Leslie Vanderventer-Hernandez
Specialist to the Crisis Intervention and Safety Department

(224) 303-1084
lvanderventer@wps60.org

Tasha London
Mental Health & SEL Coordinator

(224) 303-1081
tlondon@wps60.org


Darryl K. Wilson Sr.
Educational Safety Specialist

(224) 303-1086
Dwilson@wps60.org

William D. Mentzelopoulos
Educational Safety Specialist

(224) 303-1055
wmentzelopoulos@wps60.org

William Heelan
Educational Safety Specialist

(224) 303-3315
wheelan@wps60.org

Amy Oliva
Educational Safety Specialist

(224) 303-3230
aoliva@wps60.org

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.